Monday, June 24, 2024
HomeSportEight Teams Confirmed as Automatic Qualifiers for 2024 ICC Women's T20 World...

Eight Teams Confirmed as Automatic Qualifiers for 2024 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup

The International Cricket Council on Tuesday confirmed eight teams have been identified as automatic qualifiers for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024, to be held in Bangladesh, after the end of the eighth edition of the tournament that saw Australia win their sixth title. 

As per the qualification process, the top three teams from each group earn direct qualification along with the hosts and the highest-ranked team outside of the six direct qualifiers from the 10-team tournament.

Australia, New Zealand and South Africa are the teams to earn direct qualification as the top three teams of Group 1 in the league stage while England, India and the West Indies similarly make it from Group 2.

Bangladesh qualified as hosts of the ninth edition of the tournament while Pakistan made it by virtue of being the next highest-ranked team in the ICC Women’s T20I Team Rankings as of February 27, 2023.

The remaining two spots will be identified through a Global Qualifier to be held early next year. 

From the teams who played in this year’s tournament, Sri Lanka and Ireland are the teams failing to get direct qualification. Sri Lanka are currently ranked eighth in the rankings while Ireland are 10th.

- Advertisment -
Google search engine

Most Popular

Recent Comments